When is the data in Wasabi Surveillance Cloud account deleted?

 

Your data in the cloud is extremely safe with Wasabi Surveillance Cloud. Data in the cloud is deleted automatically when the corresponding local file is deleted (i.e. when the VMS deletes the file after retention period has been reached or if someone deletes camera files locally).

 “Deleting” a connection between a source and a target does not delete any data in the cloud. A warning message will let you know if you are about to end up with orphan stub files (in case you want to retrieve any associated data back from the cloud before deleting the pair). As long as the bucket remains untouched in the cloud, it is always easy to reconnect to it to regain access to your data.

 

WARNING: IF YOU WANT TO TEST DISASTER RECOVERY, ALWAYS DELETE THE SOURCE-PAIR ASSOCIATION (DELETE SOURCE) TO BREAK THE CONNECTION WITH THE CLOUD PRIOR TO DELETING ANY LOCAL FILE. ALSO, IF YOU DELETE FILES IN THE CLOUD BUCKET DIRECTLY, WASABI SURVEILLANCE CLOUD WILL NOT BE AWARE AND ASSUME THAT THE DATA IS STILL THERE (WASABI SURVEILLANCE CLOUD WILL NOT RE-REPLICATE THESE FILES AGAIN AND WILL ASSUME THAT ANY LOCAL STUB FILES ARE STILL POINTING TO VALID DATA).

Have more questions? Submit a request